Shutter Island

Shutter Island is a 2010 American neo-noir psychological thriller film directed by Martin Scorsese and written by Laeta Kalogridis, based on Dennis Lehane’s 2003 novel of the same name. Leonardo DiCaprio stars as U.S. Marshal Edward “Teddy” Daniels who is investigating a psychiatric facility on Shutter Island after one of the patients goes missing. Mark Ruffalo plays his partner officer, Ben Kingsley is the facility’s lead psychiatrist, and Michelle Williams is Daniels’ wife. Released on February 19, 2010, the film received generally favorable reviews from critics, was chosen by National Board of Review as one of the top ten films of 2010 and grossed over $294 million worldwide.

The implausible escape of a brilliant murderess brings U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels (Leonardo DiCaprio) and his new partner (Mark Ruffalo) to Ashecliffe Hospital, a fortress-like insane asylum located on a remote, windswept island. The woman appears to have vanished from a locked room, and there are hints of terrible deeds committed within the hospital walls. As the investigation deepens, Teddy realizes he will have to confront his own dark fears if he hopes to make it off the island alive.


Leonardo DiCaprio as Edward “Teddy” Daniels

Mark Ruffalo as Chuck Aule

Ben Kingsley as Dr. John Cawley

Max von Sydow as Dr. Jeremiah Naehring

Michelle Williams as Dolores Chanal

Emily Mortimer as Rachel Solando

Patricia Clarkson as Dr. Rachel Solando

Jackie Earle Haley as George Noyce

Ted Levine as Warden

John Carroll Lynch as Deputy Warden McPherson

Elias Koteas as Andrew Laeddis

Ruby Jerins as Little Girl

Robin Bartlett as Bridget Kearns

Christopher Denham as Peter Breene

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Related article


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *